AI Tools & Copilots: what local governments paid
General-purpose AI for staff and operations: ChatGPT Enterprise, standalone Microsoft 365 Copilot pilots, Google Gemini, government LLM platforms, AI meeting notes, and AI camera/video analytics. Resident-facing chatbots are under AI Chatbots & 311.
7 records · 4 states · stated/derived annual cost ranges $16,500 – $852,000. Vendors: City Detect, GovAI, IBM, Microsoft, OpenAI.
See also: AI Chatbots & 311 (4) · Microsoft 365 & Copilot (9)
Category sponsorship available. Sponsors are clearly labeled and never affect which records appear or how they're shown. Learn more
City of Dallas, TX — City Detect
AI-powered camera technology (100 cameras on sanitation trucks) for Sanitation and Code Compliance: 3-yr service contract
High confidence source re-checked 2026-11-01
- Contract amount
- $2,556,000 (3-yr estimated amount (+1-yr renewal option))
- Annual cost
- $852,000 (stated per year)
- Term (years)
- 3
- Date
- 2025-12-10 (Council consideration date)
- Status
- Approved (Legistar 25-3339A)
- Category
- AI Tools & Copilots
- Notes
- Derived: $8,520 per camera per year, all-in. Sole source. Flags illegal dumping, graffiti, structural deterioration; staff review every flag (no automatic citations). Resolution: https://cityofdallas.legistar.com/gateway.aspx?M=L&ID=22928
- Source
- Primary (city manager memo to council) · record TSP-0089
City of Baton Rouge / East Baton Rouge Parish, LA — City Detect
AI blight detection: 5 vehicle-mounted data collection cameras + analysis (10/1/2026-12/31/2029)
High confidence source re-checked 2026-11-01
- Contract amount
- $549,000 (NTE over ~3.25 years)
- Annual cost
- $168,923 (derived average)
- Term (years)
- 3.25
- Date
- 2026-10-14 (Metropolitan Council meeting date)
- Status
- Memo to Metropolitan Council (recommended)
- Category
- AI Tools & Copilots
- Notes
- Derived: ~$33,785 per camera per year (5 cameras). Compare Dallas at $8,520/camera/yr with 100 cameras: a big volume effect. Staff manually review all flags.
- Source
- Primary (department memo) · record TSP-0090
City of Andover, KS — GovAI
GovAI Enterprise (government AI/LLM platform with PII redaction, SSO/SCIM, custom assistants)
High confidence source re-checked 2026-11-01
- Contract amount
- $19,250 (NTE (Nov-Dec 2025 $2,750 + 2026 $16,500))
- Annual cost
- $16,500 (2026 annual price, locked for 4 renewals)
- Term (years)
- 1
- Date
- 2025-10-28
- Status
- Recommended
- Category
- AI Tools & Copilots
- Notes
- List price $29,950/yr less $13,450 early-partner discount. Memo says it is about half the price of ChatGPT or Copilot. Per-user count not stated.
- Source
- Primary (staff memo + order form) · record TSP-0076
City of Dallas, TX — IBM
Generative AI and data governance as a service for the city's data aggregation platform (Supplemental Agreement No. 8)
High confidence source re-checked 2026-11-01
- Contract amount
- $745,305 (One-time NTE increase (contract total to $5,898,567.51))
- Date
- 2024-06-01 (Legistar intro date)
- Status
- Approved
- Category
- AI Tools & Copilots
- Notes
- Large-city benchmark; no unit pricing in title.
- Source
- Primary (Legistar legislation title via public Web API) · record TSP-0091
Montgomery County, MD — Microsoft
Copilot 365 pilot program: 300 Microsoft 365 Copilot licenses + employee training (supplemental appropriation #25-29)
Medium confidence source re-checked 2026-11-01
- Contract amount
- $308,000 (FY25 supplemental appropriation (licenses + training))
- Date
- 2025-01-14 (Council introduction / public hearing set)
- Status
- Introduced (supplemental appropriation)
- Category
- AI Tools & Copilots
- Notes
- UNCERTAIN unit price: appropriation bundles licenses with a dedicated trainer, so a per-license price is not stated. Upper bound derived ~$1,027/user including training.
- Source
- Primary (council staff packet) · record TSP-0088
Williamson County, TX — OpenAI
ChatGPT Enterprise licenses for county staff (MSA #2025268, Quote 55405389)
Medium confidence source re-checked 2026-11-01
- Contract amount
- $70,560 (NTE per fiscal year (term 6/30/2025-6/30/2026))
- Annual cost
- $70,560
- Term (years)
- 1
- Date
- 2025-07-15
- Status
- Approved by Commissioners Court
- Category
- AI Tools & Copilots
- Notes
- UNCERTAIN unit price: the MSA states the $70,560 NTE but the quote exhibit is not in the public PDF. The 150-license count comes from local news (Community Impact, 7/22/2025); if correct, ~$470.40/license/yr (derived).
- Source
- Primary (master services agreement) · record TSP-0087
City of Plano, TX — OpenAI
Citywide AI package: ChatGPT Enterprise (150-license minimum), Microsoft Teams Premium AI recaps, Darwin AI governance platform
High confidence source re-checked 2026-11-01
- Contract amount
- $390,000 (NTE package (ChatGPT up to $190,000; Teams Premium $10,000; Darwin AI $150,000; $40,000 reserve))
- Annual cost
- $57,024 (ChatGPT Enterprise 150 licenses, estimated annual)
- Date
- 2026-10-12 (Agenda date)
- Status
- Consent agenda (recommended)
- Category
- AI Tools & Copilots
- Notes
- Derived: ~$380.16 per ChatGPT Enterprise license per year ($57,024 / 150). Teams Premium stated at ~$10/user/month. Darwin AI licensing + implementation est. $150,000.
- Source
- Primary (agenda item memo, Legistar 26-884) · record TSP-0086